Municipality of Brockton




Our Story

Brockton is “Open for Business”, with the lands available in the East Ridge Business Park to the vibrant downtown core in Walkerton and the welcoming atmosphere in our villages and agricultural community. Walkerton serves as the main commercial and government services centre for the municipality. The municipality of Brockton is rooted in the rural area of Midwestern Ontario and residents enjoy the benefits of immediate access to the natural environment and amenities such as the Saugeen River and Brant Tract (a managed forest with 20 kilometres of hiking and biking trails). The community is proud of its agricultural roots and increasingly diverse economic base. To ensure a mix of both commercial/industrial land and residential development now and in the future the Municipality has set aside 125 acres for a business park, East Ridge Business Park. This location is ideal for companies interested in greenfield investment opportunities and a location in proximity to the Walkerton Clean Water Centre (WCWC). Walkerton is home to the WCWC, an agency of the Government of Ontario. The WCWC is a key economic asset for the community. It serves as a demonstration and training centre for drinking water researchers and system operators. The Municipality of Brockton and Town of Walkerton are located less than a two hour drive northeast of London and 1.5 hours northwest of the cities of Kitchener, Waterloo and Guelph. Our Do Business section offers an overview of what we have to offer and how we can help you relocate your business here.

Major Employers

  • Larsen & Shaw
  • South Bruce Grey Health Unit
  • Bruce County
  • Brucelea Haven
  • Hammond Power Solutions
  • Bluewater School Board
  • Grey-Bruce Catholic School Board
  • Kaufman's Valu-Mart
  • Westario Power Inc.
  • Price Schonstrom

Bruce County

Community Type Population
Bruce County, ON County 73,396
Kincardine, ON Municipality 12,268
Arran Elderslie, ON Municipality 6,913
South Bruce, ON Municipality 5,880
Northern Bruce Peninsula, ON Municipality 4,404
Saugeen Shores, ON Town 15,908
South Bruce Peninsula, ON Town 9,137
Huron Kinloss, ON Township 7,723
Saugeen 29, ON Indian reserve 784
The Chippewas of Nawash Unceded First Nation, ON Council 615