Kneehill County

Our Story

Situated in the heart of central Alberta, Kneehill County is a progressive rural municipality comprised of approximately 814,653 acres of land and a population of 5001 residents. Within the Kneehill County boundaries, are the Towns of Three Hills and Trochu, Village of Acme, Carbon, and Linden, and 4 Hamlets (Torrington, Huxley, Swalwell, Wimborne) and other neighbourhoods (Hesketh, Sunnyslope) with a trade area of over 11,000 people.

Kneehill County’s central locality provides residents and businesses with convenient access to larger centers while still maintaining its rural quality of life. Primary access to the region is provided via the Highway 21 and Highway 27 corridors, CN Rail and the Three Hills Municipal Airport. Calgary, Red Deer, Stettler, Strathmore and Drumheller can all be accessed with an hour’s drive of the County.

Today, agriculture remains the backbone of the local economy. Located at the centre of a high-volume grain and beef production area, the region is ideally situated to grow its footprint in agricultural product processing. Based on the raw materials produced in the region, sophisticated food or plant processing operations, including growing niche categories of specialized food, products, composites, or medicines/supplements has been identified as a strong growth sector.

Oilfield and manufacturing remain steady in the region and have developed clusters around the primary urban centres.

As part of the Canadian Badlands tourism region, Kneehill County borders the Tyrrell Museum in Drumheller and Rosebud Theatre in Wheatland County, which both play a large part in the tourism of the region. The ongoing development of Horseshoe Canyon will cement Kneehill County’s reputation as a Tourism destination, bringing visitors from all over southern Alberta to enjoy the breathtaking landscapes, hiking and eco-experience.

Major Employers

  • Sunterra Farms and Soleterra d'Italia
  • Alberta Health Services
  • Golden Hills School Division
  • Kneehill County